- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Marco Scutaro out again for Red Sox

Posted By Justin Doubleday On September 3, 2011 @ 3:33 pm In General | 5 Comments

Shortstop Marco Scutaro [1] will be held out of Boston’s game against the Rangers Saturday afternoon to get another day of rest. Scutaro sat out Friday’s series opener against the Rangers as well.

Jed Lowrie [2] will get his second straight start at shortstop, batting sixth in place of Scutaro. Lowrie is 2-for-3 in his career against Rangers starter Colby Lewis [3]. In his pre-game press conference Saturday, manager Terry Francona [4] said he expects Scutaro will be back for the series finale on Sunday.

“I wanted to give him one more day,” Francona said. “We’ll play him tomorrow. I think these two days [of rest] will be really good for him… he’s a little beat up.”

The veteran shortstop missed five straight games in the middle of August with a sore back, but he had been back in the lineup since Aug. 20. Even with the season winding down, Francona insisted that he is not sitting players to be overly cautious with the post season looming.

“If they need it,” Francona said, referring to resting players in the stretch run. “Not if they don’t need it, but if they need it, it’s very important. We certainly try to keep an eye on them.”

For complete Red Sox [5] coverage, visit weei.com/redsox. [6]


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2011/09/03/marco-scutaro-out-again-for-red-sox/

URLs in this post:

[1] Marco Scutaro: http://media.weei.com/baseball/marco-scutaro.htm

[2] Jed Lowrie: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jed-lowrie.htm

[3] Colby Lewis: http://media.weei.com/baseball/colby-lewis.htm

[4] Terry Francona: http://media.weei.com/baseball/terry-francona.htm

[5] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[6] weei.com/redsox.: http://www.weei.com/teams/red-sox/home

[7] > Marco Scutaro out again for Red Sox" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2011/09/03/marco-scutaro-out-again-for-red-sox/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.