- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Red Sox hire John Farrell as manager, send Mike Aviles to the Blue Jays

Posted By Alex Speier On October 20, 2012 @ 11:45 pm In General | 34 Comments

According to an industry source, the Red Sox [1] have hired John Farrell [2] as their manager. The team has agreed to hire him on a three-year deal that runs through 2015.

Details of the compensation that the Blue Jays will receive for releasing Farrell from his contract as the Toronto manager have not been confirmed by parties directly involved in the trade. However, an industry source has informed WEEI.com’s Rob Bradford that the Red Sox will send infielder Mike Aviles to the Blue Jays. The Red Sox will receive a player or cash in return, as Major League Baseball [3] rules require that a trade involving one player moving to a team involve either cash or a player going to the other party to the trade.

The Red Sox interviewed four candidates — Dodgers third base coach Tim Wallach, Yankees bench coach Tony Pena [4], Padres special assistant to the GM Brad Ausmus and Orioles third base coach DeMarlo Hale — over the last nine days. However, while the team was amidst its first-round interviews with those candidates, Red Sox officials contacted the Blue Jays to discuss the acquisition cost of Farrell, who had a 154-170 record in his two years as Blue Jays manager, including a 73-89 mark this year.

Farrell spent four years as the pitching coach of the Red Sox from 2007-10. He now returns to an organization with which he has considerable familiarity and for which he has long been viewed as a top managerial candidate. Indeed, the Sox tried to hire Farrell away from the Blue Jays last year, and believed they were close to doing so until Toronto changed its club policy from one that permitted members of the organization to leave in the middle of contracts to one in which lateral moves were no longer permissible. When the Sox reached out to Toronto after the policy change, the Jays suggested that the cost of acquiring Farrell would be pitcher Clay Buchholz [5], which effectively terminated negotiations.

This year, however, the two teams found middle ground, at a time when the Sox were looking to replace Bobby Valentine [6] after one year and after a challenging season in Toronto that featured what many in baseball described as a chilled relationship between Farrell and members of Toronto’s front office.

Aviles emerged somewhat unexpectedly as the everyday shortstop for the Red Sox for most of 2012. The 31-year-old hit .250 with a .282 OBP, .381 slugging mark, .663 OPS, 13 homers and 14 steals while playing 136 games. Most advanced defensive metrics also suggested that he was one of the top defensive shortstops in the majors last year.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/10/20/red-sox-hire-john-farrell-as-manager/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] John Farrell: http://media.weei.com/baseball/john-farrell.htm

[3] Major League Baseball: http://media.weei.com/baseball/major-league-baseball.htm

[4] Tony Pena: http://media.weei.com/baseball/tony-pena.htm

[5] Clay Buchholz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/clay-buchholz.htm

[6] Bobby Valentine: http://media.weei.com/baseball/bobby-valentine.htm

[7] > Red Sox hire John Farrell as manager, send Mike Aviles to the Blue Jays" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/10/20/red-sox-hire-john-farrell-as-manager/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.