- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Reports: Marlins shopping Logan Morrison and Ricky Nolasco, but no plans to deal Giancarlo Stanton

Posted By Alex Speier On November 14, 2012 @ 4:07 pm In General | 20 Comments

In the aftermath of the trade that unloaded shortstop Jose Reyes [1] and starters Josh Johnson [2] and Mark Buehrle [3] to the Blue Jays, the Marlins may not be leaving the proverbial dust to settle. According to Joe Capozzi of the Palm Beach Post (via twitter [4]), there is an expectation that Miami will now trade right-hander Ricky Nolasco and first baseman/outfielder Logan Morrison.

Though Nolasco continues to have low walk rates and has been relatively durable, his impressive 2008 campaign — in which he went 15-8 with a 3.52 ERA — seems like something of a career outlier. In the last four years, he’s gone 49-43 with a 4.68 ERA (worse than league average), and his strikeout rate has gone down in each of the last three years, from 9.5 per nine innings in 2009 to 8.4 to 6.5 and finally to 5.9 in 2012. He is set to earn $11.5 million in 2013, the final season of a three-year, $26.5 million deal he signed before the 2011 season.

Morrison could represent an intriguing option for a Red Sox [5] team that is without a first baseman or corner outfielder. The 25-year-old struggled to a .230 average, .308 OBP, .399 slugging mark and .707 OPS in 2012. However, those numbers reflected in no small part his struggles in an offense-killing home ballpark in Miami, where he hit .209/.278/.329/.608 with four homers in 176 plate appearances. On the road, he hit .254/.342/.478/.820 with seven homers in 158 plate appearances. In parts of three seasons, the left-handed hitting Morrison is a career .250/.339/.442/.781 hitter who has shown similar splits against both right-handed and left-handed hitters. However, he was limited to just 93 games in 2012 and missed the final two months of the year for a knee injury that ultimately required surgery in September.

The most intriguing member of the Marlins for a potential trade is slugger Giancarlo Stanton, who hit .290/.361/.608/.969 with 37 homers in just 123 games as a 22-year-old in 2012. (He turned 23 last week.) However, Joe Frisaro of MLB.com reports [6] that Stanton “pretty much remains untouchable, at least for 2013,” given that he is both inexpensive (he is not yet eligible for salary arbitration) and the lone recognizable star left on the Marlins after the blockbuster with the Jays.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/14/reports-marlins-shopping-logan-morrison-and-ricky-nolasco-but-no-plans-to-deal-giancarlo-stanton/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jose Reyes: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jose-reyes.htm

[2] Josh Johnson: http://media.weei.com/football/josh-johnson.htm

[3] Mark Buehrle: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mark-buehrle.htm

[4] via twitter: https://twitter.com/joecapMARLINS/status/268791642394357760

[5] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[6] Joe Frisaro of MLB.com reports: http://joefrisaro.mlblogs.com/2012/11/14/marlins-not-intending-to-trade-stanton/

[7] > Reports: Marlins shopping Logan Morrison and Ricky Nolasco, but no plans to deal Giancarlo Stanton" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/14/reports-marlins-shopping-logan-morrison-and-ricky-nolasco-but-no-plans-to-deal-giancarlo-stanton/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.