- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Hot Stove: Are Yankees looking for Alex Rodriguez’ replacement at third base?

Posted By WEEI On November 24, 2012 @ 2:11 pm In General | 33 Comments

FoxSports.com Ken Rosenthal reports that the Yankees [1] may be looking for alternatives to Alex Rodriguez [2] at third base, with free agent Jeff Keppinger [3] on New York’s radar. Eric Chavez [4], who played 50 games at third for the Yanks in 2012, is a free agent.

Rosenthal points out that Cashman has insisted Rodriguez is still entrenched at third base, recently saying, “There is no discussion whatsoever about Alex transitioning from third base to DH, part-time DH, first base or any other position on the field. .. As we approach anyone in the free-agent market or anyone in trades, we’€™re making sure we have insurance policies, (asking) our what-ifs?”

The 37-year-old Rodriguez played 81 games at third base in ’12 and a career-high 38 games at designated hitter.

Keppinger, 32, played 41 games at third for Tampa Bay in ’12. CBSSports.com also reported the Yankees have interest in free agent infielder Stephen Drew [5]. Rosenthal also raises free agent Marco Scutaro [6] and Detroit shortstop Jhonny Peralta as possible New York targets.

To read the entire report, click here. [7]


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/24/hot-stove-are-yankees-looking-for-alex-rodriguez-replacement-at-third-base/

URLs in this post:

[1] the Yankees: http://media.weei.com/baseball/new-york-yankees.htm

[2] Alex Rodriguez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/alex-rodriguez.htm

[3] Jeff Keppinger: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jeff-keppinger.htm

[4] Eric Chavez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/eric-chavez.htm

[5] Stephen Drew: http://media.weei.com/baseball/stephen-drew.htm

[6] Marco Scutaro: http://media.weei.com/baseball/marco-scutaro.htm

[7] To read the entire report, click here.: http://msn.foxsports.com/mlb/story/alex-rodriguez-days-new-york-yankees-third-baseman-may-be-numbered-112412

[8] > Hot Stove: Are Yankees looking for Alex Rodriguez’ replacement at third base?" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/24/hot-stove-are-yankees-looking-for-alex-rodriguez-replacement-at-third-base/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.