- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Hot Stove: Mike Napoli reportedly seeking four-year deal

Posted By Alex Speier On November 25, 2012 @ 4:17 pm In General | 7 Comments

According to Jim Bowden of ESPN and MLB Network Radio (via twitter [1]), free agent catcher/first baseman/DH Mike Napoli [2] is holding out for a four-year deal from the Red Sox [3], Rangers or Mariners. Bowden tweeted: Mike Napoli determined to get 4th year…waiting on Red Sox or Rangers to blink (Mariners still in it)

Napoli turned 31 on Halloween, meaning that a four-year deal would cover his age 31-34 seasons. He slumped to a .227 average with a .343 OBP, .469 slugging mark and .812 OPS with 24 homers in 108 games in 2012 with the Rangers, a year in which a leg injury limited him to 108 games (his fewest games played since 2008). For his career, he’s a .259 hitter with a .356, OBP, .507 slugging mark and .863 OPS while averaging 33 homers per 162 games. Among remaining free agents, Napoli has the fourth-highest slugging percentage since 2006 (behind Josh Hamilton [4], Jim Thome [5] and Lance Berkman [6]) and fifth-highest OPS (behind the same three as well as Kevin Youkilis [7]).

The Sox’ interest in Napoli is primarily as a first baseman and a fallback DH option for for David Ortiz [8]. His appeal to the Red Sox as a free agent was augmented by the fact that he was not given a qualifying offer by the Rangers, meaning that another team will not have to sacrifice a draft pick if it signs the free agent. That gives Napoli one advantage in the market over first baseman Adam LaRoche [9], who is coming off a stronger 2012 season but who did receive a qualifying offer from the Nationals. While the Red Sox have a protected first-round draft pick in 2013, the team is still reluctant to part with its second-round pick.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/25/hot-stove-mike-napoli-reportedly-seeking-four-year-deal/

URLs in this post:

[1] via twitter: https://twitter.com/JimBowdenESPNxm/status/272783293341106176

[2] Mike Napoli: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-napoli.htm

[3] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[4] Josh Hamilton: http://media.weei.com/baseball/josh-hamilton.htm

[5] Jim Thome: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jim-thome.htm

[6] Lance Berkman: http://media.weei.com/baseball/lance-berkman.htm

[7] Kevin Youkilis: http://media.weei.com/baseball/kevin-youkilis.htm

[8] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[9] Adam LaRoche: http://media.weei.com/baseball/adam-laroche.htm

[10] > Hot Stove: Mike Napoli reportedly seeking four-year deal" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/11/25/hot-stove-mike-napoli-reportedly-seeking-four-year-deal/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.