- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Hot Stove: Red Sox among five teams interested in Adam LaRoche

Posted By WEEI On December 1, 2012 @ 6:38 pm In General | 3 Comments

Free agent first baseman Adam LaRoche [1], who hit a career-high 33 homers in 2012 with a strong line of .271/.343/.510/.853 while winning a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger award as both the top offensive and defensive first baseman in the National League [2], told The Washington Post [3] that he remains extremely interested in returning to the Nationals, but that he and the team have yet to find middle ground on the term of a contract.

LaRoche, 33, wants a three-year commitment from Washington, while the Nationals — most recently through a face-to-face meeting on Friday between the first baseman and GM Mike Rizzo [4] — are holding the line at two years.

‘€œI think they’€™re really wanting to stick to two years. I’€™m trying to talk them into lengthening that. To be honest, probably just one year. I’€™m not looking for four or five. I understand I’€™m 33 years old,” LaRoche told the Post. ‘€œI can’€™t say it moved forward. We understand each other a lot more now. I think he understands where I’€™m coming from. He understands I want to be there, kind of my argument for three years not being unreasonable. So, I don’€™t know.’€

According to the story, LaRoche has also received interest from the Red Sox [5], Rangers, Mariners and Rays, while noting that “none of those talks [has] advanced past an early stage.”

LaRoche — who spent nine days with the Sox in 2009, getting picked up in a trade with the Pirates for minor leaguers Hunter Strickland and Argenis Diaz and then getting flipped for Casey Kotchman [6] little more than a week later, also said that even a three-year offer might not be enough to sway him from returning to Washington. He’s keenly concerned with a team’s competitive outlook.

‘€œI spent some years in Pittsburgh where they were really struggling, and that was not a fun summer. I don’€™t want to get into a situation where we’€™ve got no chance,” LaRoche said. “I don’€™t want three years where it’€™s rebuilding, and all of a sudden I’€™m out of the game and finished on three rough years.”


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/01/hot-stove-red-sox-among-five-teams-interested-in-adam-laroche/

URLs in this post:

[1] Adam LaRoche: http://media.weei.com/baseball/adam-laroche.htm

[2] National League: http://media.weei.com/baseball/national-league.htm

[3] told The Washington Post: http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/nationals-journal/wp/2012/12/01/adam-laroche-mike-rizzo-talk-contract/

[4] Mike Rizzo: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-rizzo.htm

[5] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[6] Casey Kotchman: http://media.weei.com/baseball/casey-kotchman.htm

[7] > Hot Stove: Red Sox among five teams interested in Adam LaRoche" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/01/hot-stove-red-sox-among-five-teams-interested-in-adam-laroche/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.