- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Hot Stove: Kevin Youkilis has multiple contract offers

Posted By Alex Speier On December 5, 2012 @ 10:51 am In General | 14 Comments

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — With a market that is bereft of available third basemen, and given the fact that he can fit a team in search of a starter at either corner infield position and that he will not cost a draft pick to sign, Kevin Youkilis [1] is attracting interest from a number of teams. According to multiple industry sources, he has multiple contract offers on the table.

The 33-year-old hit .235/.336/.409/.745 (all career lows) with 19 homers in 122 games in 2012. Still, he was a productive player with the White Sox [2] after the Red Sox [3] traded him for Brent Lillibridge and Zach Stewart (both of whom have been subsequently designated for assignment), with his marks of .236/.346/.425/.771 and his characteristic plate discipline helping to bolster Chicago at third base. He hit .275/.386/.492/.878 against lefties.

While Youkilis has been willing to discuss one- and multiyear deals with teams, for now, while the Yankees [4] have a need at third base in the aftermath of revelations about hip surgery for Alex Rodriguez [5] and while GM Brian Cashman [6] has talked to the player’s representatives, as of yesterday, New York did not appear likely to pay prevailing market rate, even on a one-year deal.

UPDATE: Youkilis has multiple multi-year offers, according to an industry source. He still remains open to the possibility of a one-year deal with a premium average annual value, particularly for a team with legitimate championship aspirations such as the Yankees.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/05/hot-stove-kevin-youkilis-has-multiple-contract-offers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Youkilis: http://media.weei.com/baseball/kevin-youkilis.htm

[2] White Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/chicago-white-sox.htm

[3] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[4] the Yankees: http://media.weei.com/baseball/new-york-yankees.htm

[5] Alex Rodriguez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/alex-rodriguez.htm

[6] Brian Cashman: http://media.weei.com/baseball/brian-cashman.htm

[7] > Hot Stove: Kevin Youkilis has multiple contract offers" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/05/hot-stove-kevin-youkilis-has-multiple-contract-offers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.