- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Red Sox to pay Dodgers $3.9M over each of next three years

Posted By Alex Speier On December 12, 2012 @ 11:29 pm In General | 3 Comments

According to The Associated Press [1], the Red Sox [2] will make three payments of $3.9 million each to the Dodgers in the next three years, with disbursements to come in 2013, 2014 and 2015, to complete the August blockbuster that sent Adrian Gonzalez [3], Carl Crawford, Josh Beckett [4] and Nick Punto [5] to Los Angeles in exchange for Allen Webster, Rubby De La Rosa, Jerry Sands, Ivan De Jesus Jr. and James Loney [6].

The payment schedule has limited implications for the Sox’ efforts to avoid the luxury tax, most notably in 2014, when doing so provides the team with a potential rebate of revenue-sharing money that could lead to millions of dollars in savings for the club. As of now, assuming that the team’s three-year, $39 million deal with Mike Napoli [7] is finalized and with the payment to the Dodgers factored in, the team would still have more than $45 million that it could spend on contracts for 2014 while staying under that season’s $189 million luxury tax threshold.

While the Sox remain on the hook for a total of $11.7 million for the contracts of the players they sent to the Dodgers, Los Angeles will pay the remaining $250.8 million on the four former Red Sox players contracts, thus giving the Sox considerable financial flexibility going forward.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/12/red-sox-to-pay-dodgers-3-9m-over-each-of-next-three-years/

URLs in this post:

[1] According to The Associated Press: http://weei.stats.com/mlb/story.asp?i=20121212210713408837808&ref=hea&tm=&src=

[2] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[3] Adrian Gonzalez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/adrian-gonzalez.htm

[4] Josh Beckett: http://media.weei.com/baseball/josh-beckett.htm

[5] Nick Punto: http://media.weei.com/baseball/nick-punto.htm

[6] James Loney: http://media.weei.com/baseball/james-loney.htm

[7] Mike Napoli: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-napoli.htm

[8] > Red Sox to pay Dodgers $3.9M over each of next three years" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/12/red-sox-to-pay-dodgers-3-9m-over-each-of-next-three-years/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.