- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Hot Stove: Agent confirms Anibal Sanchez will return to Tigers for 5 years, $80M

Posted By Jerry Spar On December 14, 2012 @ 10:56 am In General | 9 Comments

Right-handed pitcher Anibal Sanchez [1] reached agreement to return to the Tigers on a five-year, $80 million contract, his agent told ESPN on Friday morning. Agent Gene Mato confirmed that the free agent will stay in Detroit, following reports a day earlier that Sanchez had a deal with the Cubs for six years and $147 million.

Sanchez, a former Red Sox [2] minor leaguer who was traded by Boston to the Marlins in 2005 along with Hanley Ramirez [3] for Josh Beckett [4] and Mike Lowell [5], was shipped from Miami to Detroit shortly before the trade deadline this past July.

In Detroit, Sanchez went 4-6 with a 3.74 ERA and 57 strikeouts against 15 walks in 74 2/3 innings. In seven major league seasons, Sanchez has a 48-51 record with a 3.74 ERA and 733 strikeouts vs. 320 walks in 869 innings.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/14/hot-stove-agent-confirms-anibal-sanchez-will-return-to-tigers-for-5-years-80m/

URLs in this post:

[1] Anibal Sanchez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/anibal-sanchez.htm

[2] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[3] Hanley Ramirez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/hanley-ramirez.htm

[4] Josh Beckett: http://media.weei.com/baseball/josh-beckett.htm

[5] Mike Lowell: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-lowell.htm

[6] > Hot Stove: Agent confirms Anibal Sanchez will return to Tigers for 5 years, $80M" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2012/12/14/hot-stove-agent-confirms-anibal-sanchez-will-return-to-tigers-for-5-years-80m/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[7]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.