- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Schilling does not expect HOF election

Posted By Jerry Spar On January 9, 2013 @ 2:41 am In General | No Comments

Former Red Sox [1] pitcher Curt Schilling [2], eligible for the Hall of Fame for the first time this year, on Wednesday indicated he does not expect to be elected, and he offered his thoughts on which players should be chosen. Results of the balloting will be announced Wednesday afternoon.

Tweeted Schilling: Being honest, anything over 35% would be stunning. This ballot should be [Dale] Murphy, [Tim] Raines, [Jeff] Bagwell [3], [Craig] Biggo imo.

Notably absent from Schilling’s list are Roger Clemens [4] and Barry Bonds [5], the two record-setters who were linked to performance-enhancing drug use.

Schilling posted a 216-146 record with a 3.46 ERA and 3,116 strikeouts in 20 big league seasons with the Orioles, Astros, Phillies, Diamondbacks and Red Sox. He was known for coming up big in the postseason, going 11-2 with a 2.23 ERA in 19 games, including a 4-1 mark with a 2.06 ERA in four World Series [6] games. He famously won Game 6 of the 2004 ALCS against the Yankees [7] in the “bloody sock” game en route to helping the Sox win their first title since 1918.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/09/schilling-does-not-expect-hof-election/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Curt Schilling: http://media.weei.com/baseball/curt-schilling.htm

[3] Jeff] Bagwell: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jeff-bagwell.htm

[4] Roger Clemens: http://media.weei.com/baseball/roger-clemens.htm

[5] Barry Bonds: http://media.weei.com/baseball/barry-bonds.htm

[6] World Series: http://media.weei.com/baseball/world-series.htm

[7] the Yankees: http://media.weei.com/baseball/new-york-yankees.htm

[8] > Schilling does not expect HOF election" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/09/schilling-does-not-expect-hof-election/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.