- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Shane Victorino the lone Red Sox member of Team USA in World Baseball Classic

Posted By Alex Speier On January 17, 2013 @ 10:18 am In General | 7 Comments

Shane Victorino [1] was the only Red Sox [2] player selected as a member of the Team USA squad in this spring’s World Baseball Classic [3], with other team members such as Dustin Pedroia [4], Jon Lester [5] and Clay Buchholz [6] not taking part in the event.

Pedroia was left off the team after the Sox expressed concerns about his return from hand injuries in 2012. While there weren’t injury concerns with Lester or Pedroia, per se, Team USA selected just four starting pitchers (R.A. Dickey, Ryan Vogelsong, Kris Medlen and Derek Holland [7]), all of whom had much stronger years in 2012 than the two Red Sox starters. However, Team USA does plan to add a fifth starter to the roster.

Victorino, who signed a three-year, $39 million deal with the Sox this offseason, will take part in the WBC for the second time, having also done so in 2009. Victorino is one of four outfielders on the squad, joining Ryan Braun [8], Adam Jones [9] and Mike Stanton [10]. Victorino expressed enthusiasm for his participation via twitter [11]: Honored to represent my country and put this jersey on with #PRIDE! @WBCBaseball #USA #USA #USA

For complete Red Sox coverage, visit weei.com/redsox [12].


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/17/shane-victorino-the-lone-red-sox-member-of-team-usa-in-world-baseball-classic/

URLs in this post:

[1] Shane Victorino: http://media.weei.com/baseball/shane-victorino.htm

[2] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[3] World Baseball Classic: http://media.weei.com/baseball/world-baseball-classic.htm

[4] Dustin Pedroia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/dustin-pedroia.htm

[5] Jon Lester: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jon-lester.htm

[6] Clay Buchholz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/clay-buchholz.htm

[7] Derek Holland: http://media.weei.com/baseball/derek-holland.htm

[8] Ryan Braun: http://media.weei.com/baseball/ryan-braun.htm

[9] Adam Jones: http://media.weei.com/football/adam-jones.htm

[10] Mike Stanton: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-stanton.htm

[11] via twitter: https://twitter.com/ShaneVictorino/status/291919207241768960

[12] weei.com/redsox: http://www.weei.com/redsox

[13] > Shane Victorino the lone Red Sox member of Team USA in World Baseball Classic" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/17/shane-victorino-the-lone-red-sox-member-of-team-usa-in-world-baseball-classic/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.