- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Still money to spend? Red Sox payroll, 2013-15

Posted By Alex Speier On January 17, 2013 @ 12:40 pm In General | 43 Comments

The Red Sox [1] have been arguably the most aggressive team involved in free agency this offseason, making a number of one-, two- and three-year bets that have allowed the team to keep of of its prospects and draft picks but paying top-of-the-market rates for players meant to help create a competitor in the short term while also buying time for the team’s next wave of prospects to develop.

Here’s a look at the team’s payroll outlook for the next three seasons, with particular significance attached to the idea of getting under the $189 million luxury tax threshold in 2014, given that doing so would position the team, potentially, to realize millions of dollars in a revenue-sharing rebate.

One interesting note — the Red Sox now stand a real chance of exceeding the luxury tax threshold of $178 million in 2013, a somewhat surprising development given the incredible payroll flexibility the team had at the start of the offseason. However, the team’s myriad short-term deals have yet to put the club in jeopardy of going past the threshold in 2014.

(UPDATE JAN. 17: With Mike Napoli [2] reaching a one-year, $5 million deal with the Sox, the team now has even greater flexibility for future offseasons. However, with Napoli’s deal including incentives that could push the value of his contract back to the roughly $13 million annual average to which he originally agreed — albeit for one year instead of three — the Sox’ ability to stay under the luxury tax threshold in 2013 may hinge on his health.)

Meanwhile, the disincentive to go over the threshold in 2013 was diminished by the fact that the team was just under the $178 million luxury tax threshold in 2012, falling about $40,000 short of that mark thanks to the salary relief offered by the Dodgers trade. Because the Sox were under the threshold in 2012, they will be taxed at a 17.5 percent rate for any salary commitments above the luxury tax threshold the next time they clear that bar, instead of at the 40 percent assessment they would have faced for exceeding the threshold in at least three straight years.

(This list will be updated throughout the offseason as the Red Sox make additional commitments and as one-year deals for salary arbitration-eligible players are reached.)

2013 PAYROLL (LUXURY TAX THRESHOLD: $178 MILLION)

Guaranteed deals

John Lackey [3], $16.5 million
Ryan Dempster [4], $13.25 million
David Ortiz [5], $13 million
Shane Victorino [6], $13 million
Stephen Drew [7], $9.5 million
Clay Buchholz [8], $7.4 million
Dustin Pedroia [9], $6.80 million
Jon Lester [10], $6 million
Mike Napoli, $5 million (incentives could be worth $8 million)
Jonny Gomes, $5 million
Koji Uehara, $4.25 million
Craig Breslow [11], $3.125 million (based on Jan. 19 agreement to terms on two-year, $6.25 million deal, pending physical)
David Ross [12], $3.1 million
Jose Iglesias [13], $2.1 million

TOTAL GUARANTEED: APPROX $108 MILLION (UP TO $116 MILLION)

Arbitration eligible

Jacoby Ellsbury [14], $9 million (agreement on Jan. 18)
Joel Hanrahan, $7.04 million (agreement on Jan. 18) — potential for $60,000 in incentives
Jarrod Saltalamacchia [15], $4.5 million (agreement on Jan. 17)
Andrew Bailey [16], $4.1 million (agreement on Jan. 18)
Alfredo Aceves [17], $2.65 million (agreement on Jan. 18) — potential for $150,000 in incentives
Andrew Miller [18], $1.475 million (agreement on Jan. 18) — potential for $50,000 in incentives
Daniel Bard [19], $1.8625 million (agreement on Jan. 18)
Franklin Morales [20], $1.4875 million (agreement on Jan. 18)

PROJECTED TOTAL: APPROXIMATELY $33 MILLION

Pre-arbitration eligible

Junichi Tazawa
Felix Doubront [21]
Ryan Kalish [22]
Daniel Nava
Will Middlebrooks
Clayton Mortensen
Pedro Ciriaco

PROJECTED TOTAL: APPROXIMATELY $5 MILLION

Additional expenses

Benefits, $10.8 million
40-man roster members, $1.2 million
Dodgers subsidy, $3.9 million

APPROXIMATELY $16 MILLION

ESTIMATED 2013 TOTAL COMMITMENTS: $162 MILLION (AS MEASURED FOR LUXURY TAX PURPOSES) — APPROXIMATELY $17 MILLION UNDER THE THRESHOLD

2014 PAYROLL (LUXURY TAX THRESHOLD: $189 MILLION)

Guaranteed deals

John Lackey, $16.5 million
Ryan Dempster, $13.25 million
David Ortiz, $13 million
Jon Lester, $13 million (option)
Shane Victorino, $13 million
Clay Buchholz, $7.4 million
Dustin Pedroia [23], $6.8 million
Jonny Gomes, $5 million
David Ross, $3.1 million

TOTAL GUARANTEED: APPROXIMATELY $91 MILLION

Arbitration eligible

Andrew Bailey
Alfredo Aceves
Andrew Miller
Daniel Bard
Franklin Morales
Junichi Tazawa
Felix Doubront

PROJECTED TOTAL: VERY ROUGH APPROXIMATION OF $25 MILLION-$30 MILLION

Pre-arbitration eligible

Jose Iglesias (he can have a salary reduction of no more than 20 percent)
Will Middlebrooks
Clayton Mortensen
Pedro Ciriaco
Jackie Bradley Jr.
Ryan Lavarnway
Ryan Kalish/Daniel Nava/Bryce Brentz

PROJECTED TOTAL: APPROXIMATELY $5 MILLION

Additional expenses

Benefits, $10.8 million
40-man roster members, $1.2 million
Dodgers subsidy, $3.9 million

APPROXIMATELY $16 MILLION

ESTIMATED 2014 TOTAL COMMITMENTS: $142 MILLION (WITH THE ABILITY TO PUSH THAT NUMBER DOWN THROUGH TRADES) — APPROXIMATELY $47 MILLION UNDER THE THRESHOLD

2015 PAYROLL (LUXURY TAX THRESHOLD: $189 MILLION)

This is so far out that it’s almost nonsensical to hypothesize what the team’s obligations might be to arbitration-eligible players and pre-arbitration players. But, a look at the guarantees reveals a ton of financial flexibility for the team.

Guaranteed deals

John Lackey, $0.5 million
Shane Victorino, $13 million
Clay Buchholz, $7.4 million
Dustin Pedroia, $11 million (option)

APPROXIMATELY $32 MILLION

Additional expenses

Benefits, $10.8 million
40-man roster members, $1.2 million
Dodgers subsidy, $3.9 million

APPROXIMATELY $16 MILLION

TOTAL COMMITMENTS: APPROXIMATELY $48 MILLION — ROUGHLY $141 MILLION UNDER THE LUXURY TAX THRESHOLD


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/17/still-money-to-spend-red-sox-payroll-2013-15/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Mike Napoli: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-napoli.htm

[3] John Lackey: http://media.weei.com/baseball/john-lackey.htm

[4] Ryan Dempster: http://media.weei.com/baseball/ryan-dempster.htm

[5] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[6] Shane Victorino: http://media.weei.com/baseball/shane-victorino.htm

[7] Stephen Drew: http://media.weei.com/baseball/stephen-drew.htm

[8] Clay Buchholz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/clay-buchholz.htm

[9] Dustin Pedroia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/dustin-pedroia.htm

[10] Jon Lester: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jon-lester.htm

[11] Craig Breslow: http://media.weei.com/baseball/craig-breslow.htm

[12] David Ross: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ross-braves.htm

[13] Jose Iglesias: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jose-iglesias.htm

[14] Jacoby Ellsbury: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jacoby-ellsbury.htm

[15] Jarrod Saltalamacchia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jarrod-saltalamacchia.htm

[16] Andrew Bailey: http://media.weei.com/baseball/andrew-bailey.htm

[17] Alfredo Aceves: http://media.weei.com/baseball/alfredo-aceves.htm

[18] Andrew Miller: http://media.weei.com/baseball/andrew-miller.htm

[19] Daniel Bard: http://media.weei.com/baseball/daniel-bard.htm

[20] Franklin Morales: http://media.weei.com/baseball/franklin-morales.htm

[21] Felix Doubront: http://media.weei.com/baseball/felix-doubront.htm

[22] Ryan Kalish: http://media.weei.com/baseball/ryan-kalish.htm

[23] Dustin Pedroia: http://media.weei.com/mut-and-bradford.htm

[24] > Still money to spend? Red Sox payroll, 2013-15" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/17/still-money-to-spend-red-sox-payroll-2013-15/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[25]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.