- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Red Sox avoid arbitration with seven players, including Jacoby Ellsbury

Posted By Rob Bradford On January 18, 2013 @ 6:08 pm In General | 31 Comments

The Red Sox [1] have announced they came to terms with seven of the eight unsigned arbitration-eligible players Friday, leaving just Craig Breslow [2] as the only one of the group unsigned. According to Jon Heyman of CBS Sports.com, Breslow filed at $2.375 million, while the Red Sox countered at $2.325 million.

The players agreeing to terms were pitchers Alfredo Aceves [3], Andrew Bailey [4], Daniel Bard [5], Joel Hanrahan, Andrew Miller [6] and Franklin Morales [7], along with outfielder Jacoby Ellsbury [8].

Ellsbury’s deal was the richest of the bunch, at $9 million for 2013. It was the final year of arbitration-eligibility for the outfielder, who was paid $8,050,000 last year after becoming eligible for arbitration for the second time. It was a significant bump in salary from the 2.4 million he made in 2011, due to his breakout 2011 season. Following his memorable 2011 season in which he finished as runner-up in American League [9] MVP voting, Ellsbury suffered through an injury-plagued season in 2012, playing just 74 games. He hit .271/.313/.370 with four home runs and 26 RBIs.

Hanrahan’s deal is for $7.04 million deal, a considerable increase on the $4.1 million the right-hander earned in 2012. Hanrahan, who was arbitration-eligible for the third time this offseason, could earn an additional $60,000 in incentives, according to the website, with $15,000 bonuses for finishing 45, 50, 55 and 60 games.

According to Aceves’ agent Tom O’Connell has told WEEI.com’s Alex Speier that the pitcher’s contract is for $2.65 million.

The other figures for the signees are as follows: Bailey: $4.1 million; Bard: $1.8625 million; Miller: $1.475 million; Morales: $1.4875 million.

The last Red Sox player to go to arbitration was pitcher Rolando Arrojo in 2002.


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/18/red-sox-avoid-arbitration-with-seven-players-including-jacoby-ellsbury/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Craig Breslow: http://media.weei.com/baseball/craig-breslow.htm

[3] Alfredo Aceves: http://media.weei.com/baseball/alfredo-aceves.htm

[4] Andrew Bailey: http://media.weei.com/baseball/andrew-bailey.htm

[5] Daniel Bard: http://media.weei.com/baseball/daniel-bard.htm

[6] Andrew Miller: http://media.weei.com/baseball/andrew-miller.htm

[7] Franklin Morales: http://media.weei.com/baseball/franklin-morales.htm

[8] Jacoby Ellsbury: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jacoby-ellsbury.htm

[9] American League: http://media.weei.com/baseball/american-league.htm

[10] > Red Sox avoid arbitration with seven players, including Jacoby Ellsbury" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/18/red-sox-avoid-arbitration-with-seven-players-including-jacoby-ellsbury/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.