- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Red Sox agree to minor league deal with OF Ryan Sweeney

Posted By Rob Bradford On January 25, 2013 @ 8:00 pm In General | 44 Comments

According to a major league source, the Red Sox [1] have reached an agreement on a minor league deal with outfielder Ryan Sweeney [2]. Sweeney, who turns 28 next month, spent 2012 with the Red Sox after being acquired from the A’s in a trade along with right-hander Andrew Bailey [3] for outfielder Josh Reddick [4] and minor leaguers Miles Head and Raul Alcantara.

Sweeney hit .260 with a .303 OBP, .373 slugging mark and .675 OPS in 63 games, with his season coming to a sudden halt on July 30 when he broke his hand (requiring season-ending surgery) by punching a clubhouse door at Fenway Park [5]. However, his production diminished considerably after he suffered a concussion while making a spectacular diving catch against the Phillies. At the time of that injury, he was hitting .311/.341/.443/.784. Thereafter, he hit .183/.247/.268/.515. In parts of seven big league seasons, he owns a lifetime average of .280 with a .338 OBP, .378 slugging mark and .715 OPS.

The Red Sox elected to non-tender the arbitration-eligible Sweeney last December. However, the team maintained interest in bringing him back on a minor league deal.

The agreement occurred earlier today — at a time when it appears likely that Ryan Kalish will require shoulder surgery [6] that is likely to sideline him for months at the start of the 2013 season. Sweeney has an opt-out in the deal that would allow him to elect free agency if he is not added to the major league roster prior to the end of spring training.

UPDATE: Sweeney tweeted the following [7]:

He later added [8]:


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/25/red-sox-agree-to-minor-league-deal-with-of-ryan-sweeney/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Ryan Sweeney: http://media.weei.com/baseball/ryan-sweeney.htm

[3] Andrew Bailey: http://media.weei.com/baseball/andrew-bailey.htm

[4] Josh Reddick: http://media.weei.com/baseball/josh-reddick.htm

[5] Fenway Park: http://media.weei.com/baseball/fenway-park.htm

[6] it appears likely that Ryan Kalish will require shoulder surgery: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/25/source-ryan-kalish-likely-to-undergo-shoulder-surgery-miss-spring-training/

[7] Sweeney tweeted the following: https://twitter.com/RyanSweeney12/status/294978287506186241

[8] He later added: https://twitter.com/RyanSweeney12/status/294992985492422656

[9] #gosox: https://twitter.com/search/%23gosox

[10] > Red Sox agree to minor league deal with OF Ryan Sweeney" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/01/25/red-sox-agree-to-minor-league-deal-with-of-ryan-sweeney/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.