- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Dustin Pedroia thinks Jacoby Ellsbury is ‘here to win,’ not worried about contract

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 12, 2013 @ 9:47 am In General,Spring Training | 26 Comments

FORT MYERS, Fla. — In the wake of the awful 2012 season, Dustin Pedroia [1] has no worries about the mindset of his teammates, including one that is set to become a free agent after this season.

Pedroia believes Jacoby Ellsbury [2] will be completely focused on the Red Sox [3] this season. That didn’t stop reporters from asking him if he’s at all concerned about Ellsbury’s commitment.

“No, he’s here to win,” Pedroia said. “I don’t think he’s showing up today worried about getting a contract extension or anything like that. He’s going to show up to help us win a ball game.

“He’s very important. We all know what he can do when he’s healthy. He’s had some bad-luck injuries, last year and a few years back. You all saw what he did the year in between that and it’s pretty special.”

(Click here to listen to Pedroia address reporters Tuesday morning in Fort Myers. [4])

Pedroia was, of course, referring to 2011, when Ellsbury batted .321 with 32 homers and 105 RBIs and finished second to Justin Verlander [5] for AL MVP.

As for another teammate, Stephen Drew [6], Pedroia is looking forward to working with his new double-play partner. Pedroia, when he was at Arizona State, played against Drew when the shortstop was at Florida State.

“A little bit, yeah,” Pedroia said when asked how much he knows him. “He’ll be fine. He’s a great player. He’s got a lot of talent. Played against him in college and played with J.D. [Drew] for five years so I was always asking J.D. how he’s doing. So, we’ll have a great relationship. It’ll be fun.”

The funniest moment of the session came when Pedroia was asked if he heard about the $100,000 the Red Sox reportedly spent two years ago on a marketing firm that told the team they needed more “sexy” players like him on the roster.

“They didn’t didn’t need to hire a damn marketing team. I could have told them that for free,” Pedroia said. “It was all my friends. I don’t know, I just started laughing. Man, that’s pretty funny.”

With author Dan Shaughnessy standing to his left listening in, Pedroia was asked if he read the book of former Red Sox manager Terry Francona [7].

“No,” he laughed. “I have no time for that.”


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/02/12/dustin-pedroia-thinks-jacoby-ellsbury-is-here-to-win-not-worried-about-contract/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dustin Pedroia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/dustin-pedroia.htm

[2] Jacoby Ellsbury: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jacoby-ellsbury.htm

[3] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[4] Click here to listen to Pedroia address reporters Tuesday morning in Fort Myers.: http://fullcount.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/PedroiaEllsburyFunny.mp3

[5] Justin Verlander: http://media.weei.com/baseball/justin-verlander.htm

[6] Stephen Drew: http://media.weei.com/baseball/stephen-drew.htm

[7] Terry Francona: http://media.weei.com/baseball/terry-francona.htm

[8] > Dustin Pedroia thinks Jacoby Ellsbury is ‘here to win,’ not worried about contract" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/02/12/dustin-pedroia-thinks-jacoby-ellsbury-is-here-to-win-not-worried-about-contract/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.