- Full Count - http://fullcount.weei.com -

Mostly Red Sox major leaguers against Northeastern, minor leaguers vs. BC

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 20, 2013 @ 9:24 am In General,Spring Training | 4 Comments

FORT MYERS, Fla. — Red Sox [1] bench coach Torey Lovullo posted player participation charts Wednesday morning for the college doubleheader on Thursday at JetBlue Park that kicks off a schedule of spring games.

Against Northeastern at 1:35 p.m., the Red Sox will sport primarily a major league roster, with regulars like Will Middlebrooks, Pedro Ciriaco, Dustin Pedroia [2], Jonny Gomes, Stephen Drew [3], Jacoby Ellsbury [4], Ryan Lavarnway, David Ross [5] and Jarrod Saltalamacchia [6] seeing playing time.

Joel Hanrahan will start the game against Northeastern followed by Daniel Bard [7] and a host of other relievers in the seven-inning game.

In the second game, Koji Uehara will get the start in the seven-inning contest against Boston College [8] at 4 p.m. That game will feature primarily minor league players. But there will be two players to keep a close eye on as Xander Bogaerts gets the start at third base while Jackie Bradley, Jr. is expected to start in center.

Mike Napoli [9] (hips) and David Ortiz [10] (Achilles) will not play in either game, as they are being held back while ramping up during the early portion of spring training. Farrell indicated Tuesday that Napoli was “making very good progress” and should be making his debut in game action in the early part of the game schedule.

For more, visit the Red Sox team page at weei.com/redsox [11].


Article printed from Full Count: http://fullcount.weei.com

URL to article: http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/02/20/mostly-red-sox-major-leaguers-against-northeastern-minor-leaguers-vs-bc/

URLs in this post:

[1] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[2] Dustin Pedroia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/dustin-pedroia.htm

[3] Stephen Drew: http://media.weei.com/baseball/stephen-drew.htm

[4] Jacoby Ellsbury: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jacoby-ellsbury.htm

[5] David Ross: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ross-braves.htm

[6] Jarrod Saltalamacchia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jarrod-saltalamacchia.htm

[7] Daniel Bard: http://media.weei.com/baseball/daniel-bard.htm

[8] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[9] Mike Napoli: http://media.weei.com/baseball/mike-napoli.htm

[10] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[11] weei.com/redsox: http://www.weei.com/redsox

[12] > Mostly Red Sox major leaguers against Northeastern, minor leaguers vs. BC" data-url="http://fullcount.weei.com/sports/boston/baseball/red-sox/2013/02/20/mostly-red-sox-major-leaguers-against-northeastern-minor-leaguers-vs-bc/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.