David Ortiz credited with second hit against Yu Darvish, Rangers
|05.14.14 at 3:07 pm ET|
As the game was being played, David Ortiz broke up the no-hitter with two outs in the ninth inning by pulling a single through a shift. But Major League Baseball has awarded Ortiz a single on a routine pop-up that dropped between Rangers rookie Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios, overturning a ruling by official scorer Steve Weller at the time — with two outs in the seventh inning — that the failure to catch the ball represented an error on Rios.
Weller cited the commentary in Rule 10:12 a1 in charging Rios with an error. The rule states:
It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder’s legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer’s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge such fielder with an error. For example, the official scorer shall charge an infielder with an error when a ground ball passes to either side of such infielder if, in the official scorers judgment, a fielder at that position making ordinary effort would have fielded such ground ball and retired a runner. The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorers judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.
Ortiz, who said at the time that he would have been fine with the ruling had Darvish completed the no-hitter, told reporters after that contest that he expected the ruling to be changed and to be credited with a hit on the untouched fly ball given that it wouldn’t represent the difference between a no-hitter and one-hitter.
‘They have to [overturn Weller’s decision]. Otherwise they going to have to fix some [stuff] up. They have to,’ Ortiz told reporters. ‘I mean, OK, I know I hit a ball that was supposed to be caught, the guy is throwing a no-hitter, we all understand that. But when it comes down to the rules in the game, that’s a hit. That’s the rule that we all know and that’s the rule the game has for more than 100 years. the ball in the outfield drops between the infield and the outfield and nobody touched it, that’s a hit.’
Evidently, MLB — which did not offer any commentary on the overturned scoring decision — agreed.
Latest from Bleacher Report
- Chris Sale Says Cutting White Sox Jerseys with Knife Was Mistake
- Boston Red Sox: Non-Roster Invitees with Best Shot to Make 25-Man Roster
- Red Sox Broadcaster Jerry Remy Diagnosed with Lung Cancer Relapse
- What Chris Sale Can Learn from David Price's Letdown Red Sox Debut Season
- Boston Red Sox: 5 Key Questions That Need Answering in Spring Training
- Boston Red Sox: 4 Last-Minute Moves They Should Consider
- David Ortiz's No. 34 to Be Retired by Red Sox: Details and Reaction
- Fort Report: Rankings, returns, & reporting to camp
- Fall/Winter Roundup: Castillo and Puerto Rico capture Caribbean Series title
- Former top 20 prospect Acosta returns to camp with Red Sox in DR
- January Notes: Devers invited to camp; Benintendi gets press
- Fall/Winter Roundup: Castillo leads Caguas to PR championship
- Fall/Winter League Roundup: Castillo, Vazquez impress in PR finals
- Scouting Report Update: Groome, Shawaryn lead first Lowell updates
- Scouting Report Updates: GCL updates from Fall Instructs
- Fall/Winter League Roundup: Castillo, Vazquez meet in PR finals
- Fall/Winter League Roundup: Leon debuts, Elias strikes out seven